The Kyrgyz Republic is a secular state that gained its independence at the end of the last millennium, and has conducted an open integration policy with other countries and the world market as a whole. The country has a rich and ancient history. The ethnonym "Kyrgyz'' was firstly mentioned in the work of famous Chinese historian and chronicler - Sym Qiang - in 201 BC.

Brief chronology of the modern times:

On august 31, 1991 Kyrgyzstan declared itself as independent and sovereign State- the Republic of Kyrgyzstan.
On March 20, 1992 Kyrgyzstan established diplomatic relations with the Russian Federation, and also became a member of the Commonwealth of Independent States, the United Nations Organization, as well as the Collective Security Treaty Organization, and the Shanghai Cooperation Organization.
In 1992 Kyrgyzstan also became a member of international organizations such as the International Monetary Fund, the World Bank, and the International Finance Corporation.
On May 5, 1993 the first Constitution of the Kyrgyz republic as an independent sovereign state was adopted. The official name of the country was changed from the Republic of Kyrgyzstan into the Kyrgyz Republic.
On May 10, 1993 Kyrgyzstan was the first nation in Central Asia to introduce its own currency - the KG som.
On January 14, 1994 The Jogorku Kenesh (parliament) approved the State coat of arms and flag of the Kyrgyz Republic.