Back to homepage


New government On 17 December 2010 the Kyrgyz parliament approved a new government coalition of the Respublika Party, together with the Social Democratic Party, and the Ata-Zhurt Party. They controlled 77 out of 120 seats in the parliament. Previously a coalition of the Social Democratic Party, Respublika and Ata Meken had been formed, but it collapsed after it failed to elect a new speaker of parliament. The new government had eighteen ministries, and included PM Almazbek Atambayev (SDP). In October 2011, after the presidential elections, Atambayev succeeded Otunbayeva as President of Kyrgizstan. With Atambayev vacating the office of PM, party factions consulted to organize a new government. In December 2011, a new broad coalition majority was formed between SDP, Ata Meken, Respublika and Ar Namys, whilst Ata Yurt went into opposition. PM Omurbek Babanov, (Respublika) became the new PM. In August 2012 this broad coalition collapsed because representatives of the Ata-Meken and Ar Namys parliamentary faction withdrew, accusing Babanov of abuse of power and involvement in corruption. On 27 August the SDP received a mandate from the President to form a new government. On 3 September, the former partners agreed on a new majority coalition without Respublika. Together the coalition holds a 69-seat majority in the 120-member parliament. The three parties unanimously voted to nominate current Presidential Office Head Zhantoro Satybaldiev (SDP) to be the new PM. Constitutional Referendum 27 June 2010 On 27 June 2010 the Kyrgyz voted in a referendum for the introduction of a Parliamentary democracy after the ethnic unrest in the preceding weeks. Many people were unsure whether to proceed with the referendum considering the many (Uzbek) people who were homeless at that time. The interim government decided to pursue the referendum, because it would also give legitimacy to the new government. Over 90 per cent of the participants voted in favour of the proposed constitution. According to the new constitution, no political party can be created on religious or ethnic grounds, and members of the armed forces, police, and the judiciary are not allowed to join a political party. Another significant change is that the President has lost the right to appoint all 13 members of the Central Election Commission. That key electoral body now consists largely of independent civil society leaders.



Facebook Fan-page